The Judas Line by Mark Everett Stone

What would happen if the antichrist really didn’t want to be the antichrist?  Was if he was best friends with a priest?  What if he started hanging out with Cain – who feels really bad about killing Abel and lying about it?

Reminiscent of Good Omens by Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman, The Judas Line has its moments but it’s a bit heavy on the testosterone for me – there’s a lot of fighting and gore in graphic detail.  I like the basic premise but I have to admit, I was disappointed by Jude Oliver’s lack of creativity in determining false identities for himself – exactly how did he manage to stay under the radar as long as he did?  I also wasn’t really thrilled with Stone’s treatment of Cain – the speech patterns were annoying rather than quirky – plus I was annoyed by Stone’s interpretation of what angered God the most – the murder or the lie.  Yes, I know I’m being a little silly given that the whole book is an irreverent take on Christian belief but it annoyed me.   Rounding out my list of annoyances was Stone’s treatment of the Norse Gods – Stone made them fallen angels which could have been cool but turned out to be lame.  In fairness to Stone, I believe he intended to portray the fallen angels as losers – I had just hoped for something more.

Leave a Reply

