DWtS Season 15 Week 5

Dances/Music/Scores:

  • Kelly & Val danced the Samba to Want U Back (Cher Lloyd)  24.5
  • Gilles & Peta danced the Rumba to I Will Always Love You (Whitney Houston)  29.5
  • Kirstie & Maks danced the Quickstep to Mrs. Robinson (Simon & Garfunkel)  25.5
  • Emmitt & Cheryl danced the Samba to Copacabana (Barry Manilow)  29
  • Melissa & Tony danced the Tango to Toxic (Britney Spears)  27
  • Shawn & Derek danced the Rumba to My Heart Will Go On (Celine Dion)  27
  • Apolo & Karina danced the Samba to Give It To Me Baby (Rick James) 27
  • Sabrina & Louis danced the Waltz to So This Is Love (from Cinderella)  29
  • Team Dance 1 (Shawn & Derek, Sabrina & Louis, Melissa & Tony, Apolo & Karina) danced Freestyle to Call Me Maybe (Carly Rae Jepsen)  29.5
  • Team Dance 2 (Gilles & Peta, Kelly & Val, Kirstie & Maks, Emmitt & Cheryl) danced Freestyle to Gangnam Style (Psy) 27

Favorite Couples:  Shawn & Derek, Gilles & Peta, Apolo & Karina.

It’s a tough call but my absolute favorite dance was Shawn & Derek’s Rumba.  I thought it was romantic and gorgeous and I loved both the Catch/Lift and Derek’s slide into the smoke/ocean.  Maybe it could have used more hip action but I was so caught up in the sheer loveliness of it that I didn’t notice.

I also loved Gilles & Peta’s Rumba from Monday night.  To Gilles’ credit, I think it was a more difficult routine because they were dancing without music for most of it.

Apolo & Karina’s Samba rounds out my list of favorite dances this week.  It was a bit raunchy but then they were dancing to Rick James.  I thought Apolo nailed it.

Team Dances:  The Call Me Maybe dance was fun.  The Gangnam Style dance?  Well, I did laugh all the way through but it was a mess and as much as I love Gilles, I really hated the move where Peta does a handstand/splits sort of thing and he peers down at her crotch – ewww!  I want to erase that image from my memory!

Other Thoughts:  Normally I love Kelly & Val and I love the Samba so I was surprised that I didn’t love this routine.  It was okay but it didn’t stand out and I think maybe the song didn’t suit the dance as well as another might have.

Carrie Ann and Len were a bit cranky Tuesday night – Len even snipped at Tom Bergeron.  I adore Tom Bergeron.  Bad Len!

While I agree with Maks, I wish everyone would use more discretion in their comments during rehearsal – Kirstie handled it perfectly.

Who’s Going Home?:  My guess is Kirstie but I suspect Apolo is in danger as well.

Other recaps:  Entertainment Weekly, Huffington Post

Leave a Reply

