Once Upon a Time: the Bad Boy episode minus Dr. Whale

Is it wrong that I’m more into Belle and Rumpel than I am Snow and Charming?  I was happy to see feisty Belle back – when she discovers that Rumpel is still working magic, she realizes that her love is not enough to change him and she leaves.  I’m also delighted that she’s going to run the library – I don’t care that she doesn’t have an MLS – she’s feisty and she loves books.  She’ll figure the rest out.  I can’t wait to see Regina try to have a book banned from the collection . . .

And Rumpel – apparently I’m still a fool for the bad-b0y-is-really-a-tortured-good-guy myth.  I like to think that I don’t fall for it in real life but as I also have a fondness for Damon Salvatore, there can be little doubt that it hooks me in fiction.  Anyway, back before he embraced the power of the Dark One, Rumpel apparently spent a good amount of time retrieving his wife from the local bar.  Milah is utterly unlikeable – she mocks her husband in front of everyone and she’s not likely to win any Mother of the Year awards either.  Now I don’t know why Rumpel was so averse to moving to another town for a fresh start – maybe it was fear of change, maybe he knew it wouldn’t really make any difference.  Whatever the case, it’s hardly surprising when one of the townfolk rushes up to Rumpel to tell him that the pirates have taken Milah.

I have to admit, I was disappointed with Rumpel – despite her behavior in the tavern, it sounded as if Milah had been taken against her will and was going to be responsible for entertaining the entire crew.  I wanted Rumpel to at least try to fight to save the mother of his son but he did not.  I suppose the writers really wanted to make sure we knew that Rumpel was truly a coward – not just a man with a limp who was smart enough to know that he had to choose his battles carefully.

Fast-forward a bit and Rumpel crosses paths with the sexy wife-stealing pirate, but this time he’s the Dark One and it’s Killian Jones who’s shaking in his boots.  Rumpel’s trying to get his sparkly hands on a magic bean that he thinks will take him to Bae but there’s always time for a bit of vengeance.  Things don’t end well for anyone – Milah gets her heart yanked out of her chest and pulverized before her eyes, Killian loses a hand, and Rumpel discovers too late that the bean was in Killian’s other hand.  The Bad Boy Myth continues as Killian convinces me that he really loved Milah.  Even as I find myself swooning a bit – apparently I also like guys who wear eyeliner – I do find myself wondering how Killian knows where the bean will take them – Smee didn’t even know and he’s the one who found it.  Is Killian, aka Captain Hook, just more well-versed in magic bean lore?

Back in Storybrooke, Belle’s dad takes drastic measures to save her from Rumpel – and Red embraces her inner wolf.  I like that Red is someone you can turn to in a crisis, and I know that she’s part wolf but I still cringed as she essentially acted like a bloodhound.

The writers are really working the Bad Boy Myth because Rumpel loves Belle enough to let her go.  Damn.  This episode is essentially the guy’s guide on how to lose a woman and how to win her back.  Rumpel opens up to Belle and tells her why he can’t let magic go.  It works – she asks him out.  I expect there will be more ups and downs for this couple and I can’t wait to see what happens next.  Hopefully something hot and heavy.  In the meantime, if you want to check out Rumpel seeking dating advice from Charming, click here – one of the funniest scenes of the show!

Questions:

How did Smee end up in Storybrooke and Hook in Fairytale Land?  Were they back from a visit to Never Never Land when the curse hit?  Was Hook hanging out with Cora at the time or did that come later?  Is Bae Peter Pan?

Dr. Whale is Doctor Frankenstein???  Okay, this is a preview for next week but what???  Other people have suggested it but I suppose I kept hoping that he was someone from fairytale or myth or legend.  Looks like Fairytale Land is really just part of Fictional Land.  I think the writers are going to get all metaphysical on us before the show is done.

Other recaps:  Entertainment Weekly, Huffington Post

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    S. L. said,

    Don’t worry, I have the same problem with always liking the bad boys on TV shows! Exhibit A: http://slstacy.wordpress.com/2012/10/14/sunday-showdown-stefan-v-damon-salvatore/ and Exhibit B: http://slstacy.wordpress.com/2012/08/09/12-hottest-fictional-characters/ Enjoyed this post, keep up the great work!

  2. 2

    lightheartedlibrarian said,

    It’s good to know that I’m not alone!

  3. 3

    S. L. said,

    Lol! I’ve also nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award http://slstacy.wordpress.com/2012/10/23/liebster-blog-award/

  4. 4

    lightheartedlibrarian said,

    Thanks!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

