DWtS Season 14 Week 6: Motown Week

Dances/Music/Scores:

  • The pros danced to a medley of The Tracks of My Tears/Dancing in the Street/Get Ready
  • Gladys & Tristan danced the Rumba to My Girl (Temptations)  21
  • Maria & Derek danced the Foxtrot to Jimmy Mack (Martha Reeves) 26
  • Roshon & Chelsie danced the Rumba to Cruisin’ (Smokey Robinson)  23
  • Katherine & Mark danced the Samba to I Can’t Get Next to You (Temptations)  29
  • Donald & Peta danced the Foxtrot to The Way You Do the Things You Do (Temptations)  27
  • Melissa & Maks danced the Viennese Waltz to Ooo Baby Baby (Smokey Robinson)  24
  • Jaleel & Kym danced the Cha Cha to Ain’t Too Proud to Beg (Temptations)  29
  • William & Cheryl danced the Rumba to Being With You (Smokey Robinson) 27
  • Pros Val and Anna danced to The Tears of a Clown (Smokey Robinson)

Dance Marathon Cha Cha to Nowhere to Run:

  • Gladys & Tristan received 3 points
  • Maria & Derek received 4 points
  • Roshon & Chelsie received 5 points
  • Melissa & Maks received 6 points
  • Donald & Peta received 7 points
  • Jaleel & Kym received 8 points
  • William & Cheryl received 9 points
  • Katherine & Mark received 10 points

Favorite Couples:  Katherine & Mark – loved the song but it must have been hard to match the Samba to that beat – kudos to them for pulling it off!  William & Cheryl – HOT!  Maria & Derek – okay there was a mishap on the stairs but it was still a fun, playful routine.

Other Thoughts:  Len really likes Gladys – I like her too but the judges are much kinder to her than they are to other contestants.  The kind comments aren’t bad at all – I think that’s the tone they should strive for with everyone except someone who obviously doesn’t care (Master P, I’m talking about you).

I didn’t think Roshon’s performance was technically awkward – after watching it again, I think his gangly frame emphasizes his youth and that’s what makes watching him do the Rumba awkward.  As much as I liked Jaleel in the first episode, I just haven’t been able to respond to him the same way since – I’m not sure if his other performances just aren’t doing it for me or if it’s because I suspect he truly was as hot towards Kym as the rumors say (if that footage has been shown, I’ve missed it – let’s face it, DWtS likes to show bickering so the omission of that footage leads me to believe he truly crossed a line).  Melissa & Maks finally looked like they were part of the competition.

Loved, loved, loved the music tonight!!!  I could listen to Smokey Robinson for hours . . . .

Who’s Going Home?:  Technically-speaking, it should be Gladys but I doubt that her fans will let her go on Motown night.  Roshon?  Jaleel?  Melissa?

Leave a Reply

