Once Upon a Time: Grumpy

I would be Grumpy too if this were my storyline:  hatched middle-freaking-aged from an egg AND named by an ax, just for starters.  Nova’s storyline isn’t much better:  the scene in the clouds had me rolling my eyes and I’m not even going to comment on her outfit.  Usually I enjoy the FairyTale Land stories but the only thing I liked about this was the scene on the hill with the fireflies.  That’s it.

Leroy and Astrid’s storyline was better.  I find the whole damsel-in-distress-because-she’s-a-ninny storyline exasperating but I did like seeing Leroy save the day.  I am curious as to why Mr. Gold/Rumpelstiltskin dislikes the fairies as much as he does; that pique in my curiosity almost made up for the mind-numbing effects of this episode’s visit to The Enchanted Forest.

As far as the Mary Margaret/David/Kathryn storyline, please tell me Emma discovers David’s innocence sooner rather than later.  I’m tired of seeing Regina have the upper hand and I’d really like Emma’s supposed superpower kick in:  you know, the one which lets her know when people are lying.  Emma’s development seems a bit stalled; let’s compare.

Best thing about this episode?  The previews with glimpses of Little Red Riding Hood’s story—maybe we’ll actually discover who the Big Bad Wolf is!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    marcy ogle said,

    I agree, this episode was LAME. I can’t wait for next week. In a somewhat weird way, I kinda liked Grumpy….after thought for you. 🙂

  2. 2

    anneelliot said,

    Ditto, sister.

    I couldn’t believe how unbelievable the whole deal was. Leroy is adorable, but that doesn’t make up for the overwhelming amount of stupid required for the episode to work the way it does.

    I’m tired of Emma saying she can tell when someone lies and never once suspects that Sidney isn’t telling the truth.

    And while Gold clearly has distaste for fairies, I’m not sure that it’s because of anything in particular. After all, he killed one for her wand, not because he had it out for them. Maybe it’s because they’re so happy-go-lucky, maybe it’s because they meddle in the lives of men, or maybe they are the cause for the Darkness that is now settled on him. After all, it started somewhere, maybe a fairy made a mistake or went wrong.

    Also, was I the only one who thought Belle’s cameo was misplaced and kind of pointless?

    • 3

      lightheartedlibrarian said,

      I’m with you–as much as I like her, I thought Belle’s cameo was exactly that–misplaced and pointless.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

