Dancing With the Stars Season 12 Finale

Dances/Music:

  • Troupe and eliminated cast members danced to Dancing Tonight (Kat DeLuna f. Fo Onassis)
  • Outside dancers danced to Don’t Stop the Party (Black Eyed Peas)
  • Mike & Lacey, Oksana, Peta, Nicole, Teddy and Tristan danced to Unbelievable (EMF)
  • Petra & Dmitry danced to You Raise Me Up (Josh Groban)
  • Kendra, Louis, Dmitry, Tony, Teddy and Tristan danced to Livin’ La Vida Loca (Ricky Martin)
  • Sugar Ray & Anna and Chris & Cheryl danced to My Prerogative/Let It Rock (Bobby Brown/Kevin Rudolf f. Lil Wayne)
  • Macy’s Design a Dance (Maks, Cheryl, Lacey, Chelsie) to We Got the Beat (Go Go’s)
  • Romeo & Chelsie danced to Greatest Love of All (Whitney Houston)
  • Ralph & Karina danced to Pencil Full of Lead (Paolo Nutini)
  • Chelsea & Mark danced the Viennese Waltz to Hedwig’s Theme (John Williams) 30
  • Kirstie & Maks danced the Cha Cha to Forget You (Cee Lo Green) 30
  • Hines & Kym danced the Samba to Fantasy (Earth, Wind & Fire)  30

Other Performances of the Evening:

  • Sara Evans sang A Little Bit Stronger

Highlights of the Evening:  Filler or not, I do enjoy seeing all of the couples of the season dance one last time.  I missed the first 30-40 minutes of the show Tuesday because I was at work, and while it’s been recorded, I haven’t had time to watch it yet.  With that disclaimer in place, I’ll state that my favorite parts of the evening were

Bad Moves of the Evening:

  • Wendy Williams interviewing herself.  Sorry, I found it painful to watch and had to mute.
  • Weird montage of the judges and celebrities.  Also found this painful to watch, had to mute and avert my eyes.
  • Okay, it’s not necessarily a bad move, but Maks’ comment that all of his partners are his trophies probably sounded better in his head than spoken aloud.  I think he meant to express that dancing with them has been reward in itself (or something like that) but I’m not sure that it came across that way.

Last Dances of the Final 3:  I do think someone would have had to mess up horribly to receive less than perfect scores but I’m okay with that.  Even though it was cleaned up, Mark was still flopping about on the floor during the Wizard’s Waltz and, as I recall, Len hated that the first time but he gave it a 10 this time.  *I personally love the Wizard’s Waltz.   Anyway, I believe all 3 deserved to be in the finals and I’m okay with essentially leaving the decision up to the voters.  I’m also okay with letting the couples choose their favorite routine of the season rather than having the judges assign a redemption dance.

Hines Wins!  Yay!  Okay, I admit Chelsea is probably technically better, but I think Hines had the right blend of technique, performance, charisma and consistency.   I think his charisma did more for him than anything but maybe that’s just me—I’m not a football fan but I loved Hines.

Differing Viewpoints:

http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-31749_162-20066010-10391698.html

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/tv-column/post/dancing-with-the-stars-2011-hines-ward-wins/2011/05/24/AFJCqzAH_blog.html

Leave a Reply

