Dancing With the Stars Season 11 Week 5

Dances/Music/Scores:

  • Brandy & Maks danced the Quickstep to the theme song from Friends 27
  • Florence & Corky danced the Tango to the theme song from The Brady Bunch 21
  • Kurt & Anna danced the Quickstep to the theme song from Bewitched 24
  • Audrina & Tony danced the Rumba to the theme song from The Hills 23
  • Kyle & Lacey danced the Foxtrot to the theme song from Charlie’s Angels 20
  • Rick & Cheryl danced the Rumba to the theme song from Hill Street Blues 24
  • Bristol & Mark danced the Jive to the theme song from The Monkees 18
  • Jennifer & Derek danced the Foxtrot to the theme song from Married With Children 25

Favorite Couples: Jennifer & Derek, Brandy & Maks, Rick & Cheryl.  I also like Kurt & Anna and Kyle & Lacey.  I adore Florence & Corky but I didn’t like the performance last night–but then I can’t imagine trying to Tango to the Brady Bunch theme either.  Audrina is a lovely dancer but I agree with the judges, it’s difficult to really connect with her because her facial expressions are mostly detached–she’s smiling but it’s a frozen smile, there’s no warmth behind it.

Least Favorite Couple: Bristol & Mark.  I think the gorilla suit might have thrown Bristol off–it was cute but it had to have been hot and she fumbled a bit taking it off.  Afterwards she was slow and missed a few steps.

TV Theme Show Night: Overall, I’m not a fan, although I was pleasantly surprised by most of the routines.  The themes beg for theatrics and you just can’t predict how the judges will react–Len loved the gorilla suits but hated the beginning to Jennifer & Derek’s routine (I liked both).  As far as Kyle & Lacey’s routine, I agree that there needed to be more foxtrot BUT the theme song did beg for a bit of disco–I thought it was a clever, entertaining routine and this was a rare occasion when I did enjoy the backstage footage (I’m sure Kyle did as well!).  Florence had to do the Brady Bunch but I don’t think it was well-suited to the Tango–Tango calls for intensity and the Brady Bunch theme is happy and  upbeat–maybe the Cha Cha Cha???

Who’s Going Home? Hopefully Bristol & Mark.

Leave a Reply

